Comic Book
Awards Almanac

American Awards

Comic Buyer's Guide Fan Awards
Info Page
1982 (Not available)
1983 (Not available)
1984 (Not available)
1985 (Not available)
1986 (Top 10 only)
1987 (Information not available)
1988 (Information not available)
1989 (Partial)
1990 (Partial)
1991 (Not available)
1992 (Partial)
1993 (Partial)
1994 (Not available)
1995 (Winners only)
1996 (1997)
1997 (1998)
1998 (1999)
1999 (2000)
2000 (2001)
2001 (2002)
2002 (2003)
2003 (2004)
Summary of winners

Non-U.S. Awards
Other Awards

Main Page

Comic Buyers Guide Fan Awards

Awarded by Comics Buyers Guide magazine. The awards are for work done in the listed year; the results are published the following year. (Note that prior to approximately 1997, CBG referred to the current year's awards by the year the work was done, but around 1997, CBG started referring to the current year's awards by the year the award was given--though they continued referring to awards prior to the switchover date by the year the work was done. For consistency, the years on this site either refer to the year the work was done, or include the context necessary to determine which meaning is indicated.)

Award known as: CBG Awards
First year of award: 1983 (covering work done in 1982)
Award status: Active
Awarded at: No awards ceremony; results are simply published in the magazine (1997-present)
Previously awarded at: Chicago Comicon (1983?-1996)
Number of categories: 10 (Current); 10-15 (Historical)
Hall of Fame: No
Award for children's material: No
Type of Award: Poll
Voting open to: Everyone (Current); CBG subscribers (Historical)