Comic Book
Awards Almanac

American Awards

Wizard Fan Awards
Info page
1993 (Partial)
1994 (Partial)
1996 (Partial)
1997 (Nominations)
2001 (Partial)

Non-U.S. Awards
Other Awards

Main Page

Wizard Fan Awards

Awarded by Wizard Magazine. The awards are for work done in the listed year; the results are announced the following year. (Up until 2006, Wizard always primarily referred to the current year's awards as either the Nth Annual Awards or as the year in which the work was done. For example, "Comics greatest moment--2005" was announced in 2006. In 2007, they started primarily using the year the awards were conducted. For consistency, the years on this site are always the year the work was done.)

Note that there were no "14th annual" Wizard Fan Awards; Wizard's numbering skipped from the 13th Annual awards in 2006 for work published in 2005, to the 15th Annual awards in 2007 for work published in 2006 (which they also called the "2007 Wizard Fan Awards").

Award known as: Wizard Awards
First year of award: 1993
Award status: Active
Awarded at: Announced in the magazine the following year (e.g. in 1996 for work published in 1995), and at WizardWorld Chicago (1996-present)
Previously awarded at: Dragon*Con (1993-1995)
Number of categories: 23 (Current); 17-30 (Historical)
Hall of Fame: No
Award for children's material: No
Type of Award: Nominated
Nominations open to: Everyone; top five nominees appear on the final ballot
Voting open to: Everyone