Comic Book
Awards Almanac

American Awards
Non-U.S. Awards
Wright Awards
Info Page
Other Awards

Main Page

The Doug Wright Awards for Canadian Cartooning

Named for the prolific Canadian cartoonist. Awarded for work published during the previous calendar year.

Award known as: Wrights
First year of award: 2005 (for work published in 2004)
Award status: Active
Awarded at: Annual award ceremony
Number of categories: 3
Hall of Fame: Yes
Award for children's material: No
Type of Award: Nominated
Nominations open to: Committee
Voting open to: Awards jury made up of selected Canadian authors, broadcasters, cartoonists, and filmmakers
Official web page:

For the purpose of this award, a "Canadian" is defined as someone who lives or works in Canada. A "cartoonist" is someone who writes and illustrate their own stories.

Category explanations:

  • Best Book: Any comic book, graphic novel or collected work by a Canadian cartoonist published between January 1 & December 31 of the previous year, with a focus on established cartoonists (ie. writer/artists).
  • Best Emerging Talent: Including cartoonists who have been published for the first time, or have displayed significant growth in their work.
  • Giants of the North: The Hall of Fame.