Comic Book
Awards Almanac

American Awards
Non-U.S. Awards

National Comics
Info Page
1997 (Winners only)
1998 (Winners only)
1999 (Winners only)
2000 (Not awarded)
2001 (Winners only)

Other Awards

Main Page

National Comics Awards

The successor in spirit to the Eagle awards, the National Comics Awards are the premier comic industry awards of Britain. They are relatively unique among modern comics awards in that they are something of a for-profit: comics-related businesses may donate money to the Comics Festival in order to have the business' name added to an award name and to have a representative of the business present the award at the ceremony. Additionally, voters used to have to pay to vote for the Best Comic Ever category, with all of those proceeds going to charity.

Award known as: National Comics Awards
First year of award: 1997 (for material published in 1996)
Award status: Active
Awarded at: U.K. Comic Art Convention (1997-1999); not awarded in 2000; Comics Festival, Bristol (2001-present)
Number of categories: 15 (Current); 13-18 (Historical)
Hall of Fame: Yes (as of 2002)
Category for children's comics: No
Special eligibility requirements: Work published between Comics Festivals: May of the previous year and May of the current year (2001?-present)
Type of Award: Nominated
Nominations open to: Everyone
Voting open to: Panel of Judges (Best Comic of the Year); Everyone (All other awards)