Comic Book
Awards Almanac

American Awards

Ignatz Awards
Info Page
2001 (Not awarded)

Non-U.S. Awards
Other Awards

Main Page

2001 Ignatz Award Nominees

The Small Press Expo was scheduled for Sept. 14-15, 2001 in Bethesda, Maryland, but was cancelled due to the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11, 2001.

The Ignatz is a festival prize determined by a ballot of attendees and exhibitors of the Expo, and, as such, the results of the voting are unique to the environment found at the Expo. The Expo steering committee decided that to hold the Ignatzes without a way to ensure similar results would not be fair to the recipients nor in keeping with the spirit of the award. Therefore, the awards were cancelled for the year.

Outstanding Artist

  • Donna Barr, The Desert Peach, A Fine Line Press
  • Jason Lutes, Berlin, Drawn & Quarterly
  • Carla Speed McNeil, Finder, Lightspeed Press
  • Tony Millionaire, Maakies, Fantagraphics Books, Sock Monkey, Dark Horse
  • Jim Woodring, Frank, Fantagraphics Books

Outstanding Graphic Novel or Collection

  • Box Office Poison, Alex Robinson, Top Shelf Productions
  • Jimmy Corrigan: The Smartest Kid On Earth, Chris Ware, Pantheon Books
  • Mail Order Bride, Mark Kalesniko, Fantagraphics Books
  • Safe Area Gorazde: The War in Eastern Bosnia, 1992-1995, Joe Sacco, Fantagraphics Books
  • Snake 'n' Bacon's Cartoon Cabaret, Michael Kupperman, Avon Books

Outstanding Story

  • "Bygone", Flipper Vol. 2, Rutu Modan, Actus Tragicus/Top Shelf Productions
  • Herobear and the Kid No. 2, Mike Kunkel, Astonish Comics
  • The Nimrod No. 5, Louis Trondheim, Fantagraphics Books
  • "Popeye the Savior Man", Jumbo Jape, Sean Bieri, self-published
  • "Stocks Are Surging", The Collected Hutch Owen, Tom Hart, Top Shelf Productions

Promising New Talent

  • Tomer and Assaf Hanuka, Bipolar, self-published
  • Mike Kunkel, Herobear and the Kid, Astonish Comics
  • Metaphrog, Louis: Red Letter Day, Metaphrog
  • Rutu Modan, Flipper Vol. 2, Actus Tragicus/Top Shelf Productions
  • Ben Steckler, Get BenT, self-published

Outstanding Series

  • Berlin, Jason Lutes, Drawn and Quarterly
  • Finder, Carla Speed McNeil, Lightspeed Press
  • Herobear and the Kid, Mike Kunkel, Astonish Comics
  • Magic Whistle, Sam Henderson, Alternative Comics
  • Mjau Mjau, Jason, Jippi Forlag

Outstanding Comic

  • Frank No. 4, Jim Woodring, Fantagraphics Books
  • Herobear and the Kid No. 2, Mike Kunkel, Astonish Comics
  • James Kochalka's Sketchbook Diaries, James Kochalka, Top Shelf Productions
  • Mjau Mjau No. 7, Jason, Jippi Forlag
  • Sequential No. 6, Paul Hornschemeier, I Don't Get It Press

Outstanding Minicomic

  • Amy Unbounded No. 12, Rachel Hartman, Pug House Press
  • Democracy: Mime Complaint No. 5, Jesse Reklaw, self-published
  • Jumbo Jape, Sean Bieri, self-published
  • Low Jinx 3: The Big Rip-Off, various, edited by Kurt Wolfgang, Noe-Fie Mono-Media
  • Tepid Spring 2001, John Hankiewicz, self-published

Outstanding Online Comic

2001 Jury Members:
Matt Feazell
Roberta Gregory
Jon "Bean" Hastings
Sam Henderson
James Sturm