Comic Book
Awards Almanac

American Awards

Ignatz Awards
Info Page
2001 (Not awarded)

Non-U.S. Awards
Other Awards

Main Page

2006 Ignatz Awards

Outstanding Artist

  • Jordan Crane, The Clouds Above (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Renee French, The Ticking (Top Shelf Productions)
  • Tony Millionaire, Billy Hazelnuts (Fantagraphics Books) *
  • Anders Nilsen, Big Questions #7 and #8 (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Chris Ware, Acme Novelty Library #16 (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection

  • Black Hole, by Charles Burns (Pantheon) *
  • Castle Waiting, by Linda Medley (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Drawn and Quarterly Showcase #3, by Matt Broersma, Genevieve Elverum, and Sammy Harkham (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • The Push Man and Other Stories, by Yoshihiro Tatsumi (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Squirrel Mother, by Megan Kelso (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding Graphic Novel

  • The Clouds Above, by Jordan Crane (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Fun Home, by Alison Bechdel (Houghton Mifflin)
  • The Ticking, by Renee French (Top Shelf Productions)
  • Tricked, by Alex Robinson (Top Shelf Productions) *
  • Wimbledon Green, by Seth (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Story

  • Ganges #1, by Kevin Huizenga (Fantagraphics Books) *
  • "Prebaby", by Joe Daly, Scrublands (Fantagraphics Books)
  • "Somersaulting", by Sammy Harkham, Drawn and Quarterly Showcase #3 (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • "To Capt. Ayres", by Andrice Arp, Mome Winter 2006 (Fantagraphics Books)
  • We Are On Our Own by Miriam Katin (Drawn & Quarterly)

Promising New Talent

  • Andrice Arp, Mome, Winter 2006 (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Jonathan Bennett, Mome, Fall 2005 (Fantagraphics Books)
  • R. Kikuo Johnson, Night Fisher (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Ben Jones, BJ & Da Dogs (Picturebox, Inc.)
  • Hope Larson, Salamander Dream (AdHouse Books), Gray Horses (Oni Press) *

Outstanding Series

  • Acme Novelty Library, by Chris Ware (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Big Questions, by Anders Nilsen (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Love and Rockets, by Los Bros. Hernandez (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Optic Nerve, by Adrian Tomine (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Owly, by Andy Runton (Top Shelf Productions) *

Outstanding Comic

  • Big Questions #7, by Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Ganges #1, by Kevin Huizenga (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Optic Nerve #10, by Adrian Tomine (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Schizo #4, by Ivan Brunetti (Fantagraphics Books) *
  • Stuff of Dreams #3, by Kim Deitch (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding Minicomic

  • Comicore Jr. by Paulette Poullet
  • Gaylord Phoenix #4 by Edie Fake
  • Monsters, by Ken Dahl *
  • Trackrabbit by Geoff Vasile
  • Window #8 by Dave Lapp

Outstanding Online Comic

Outstanding Debut Comic

  • Action Philosophers #7: It's All Greek to You, by Fred Van Lente and Ryan Dunlavey (Evil Twin Comics)
  • Anyone But Virginia #3, by Zac Crockett and Josh Eiserike (Self-Published)
  • Class of '99, by Josh Eiserike (Self-Published) *
  • Controller, by Robin Enrico (Self-Published)
  • Cross Country, by MK Reed (Self-Published)
  • Curses, by Kevin Huizenga (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • The Damned #1, by Cullen Bunn and Brian Hurtt (Oni Press)
  • Delphine #1, by Richard Sala (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Daybreak, by Brian Ralph (Bodega Distribution)
  • Feral Ducks, by FW Harvey and Josef J. Komenda (Self-Published)
  • Hellcity, by Macon Blair and Joe Flood (Gigantic Graphic Novels)
  • Hwy. 115, by Matthias Lehmann (Fantagraphics Books)
  • House of Twelve's "Heavy Metal: The Movie", by various creators (House of Twelve Comics)
  • Interiorae #2, by Gabriella Giandelli (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Let Us Be Perfectly Clear, by Paul Hornschemeier (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Luba: Three Daughters, by Gilbert Hernandez (Fantagraphics Books)
  • Lucky, by Gabrielle Bell (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Moomin: The Complete Tove Jansson Comic Strip Book One, by Tove Jansson (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Mourning Star, by Kazimir Strzepek (Bodega Distribution)
  • My Brain Hurts #4, by Liz Baillie (Self-Published)
  • New Tales Of Old Palomar #1, by Gilbert Hernandez (Fantagraphics Books)
  • One Last Ride On The Ghost Truck, by Ben T. Steckler (Self-Published)
  • Premillennial Maakies, by Tony Millionaire (Fantagraphics Books)
  • The Pirates of Coney Island #1, by Rick Spears and Vasilis Lolos (Image Comics)
  • Project: Romantic, by various creators (AdHouse Books)
  • Rogue Satellite Comics: Crossroads to Lambada, by Christopher P. Reilly (Self-Published)
  • Sidescrollers, by Matthew Loux (Oni Press)
  • 12 Reasons Why I Love Her, by Jamie S. Rich & Joelle Jones (Oni Press)
  • We Must Become Our Heroes, vol. II, #1, by Jordan Giarratano (Big G, Little G)
  • You Ain't No Dancer Vol. 2, by various creators (New Reliable Press)

Ignatz 2006 Jury Panel

    Jeffrey Brown
    Henry Chamberlain
    Justin Hall
    Laurenn McCubbin
    Jim Rugg